Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
DowntownTokyo
24 mars 2011

Solution pour l'eau contminée?: Carbon Filters for water?

Si quelqu'un a plus d'infos sur ça? Il semblerait que les filtres de carbone qu'on trouve au 100 yens shop permettent d'absorber l'iodine. Pour l'instant le gouvernement n'a rien dit là dessus mais s'il s'avère que c'est vrai ce serait judicieux de s'en procurer maintenant qu'on en trouve encore. Après comme pour l'eau  tout le monde va se ruer dessus et il y aura rupture de stock.

Moi personnellement je m'en fous cette histoire ne change rien à mon mode de vie. J'ai toujours bu de l'eau en bouteille et rupture ou pas ce n'est pas près de changer. De toute façon je ne fais pas confiance aux filtres. Mais si c'est vrai et si c'est efficace ce serait bien si les restaurants et autres entreprises pouvaient s'équiper.

Parmi les discussions ils semblerait que les gens préfèrent l'eau du robinet. Moi je me dis que c'est par souci économique surtout que l'eau en bouteille coûte hyper cher au Japon (1er prix 100 yens les 2 L). D'ailleurs quand je lis les discussions je suis étonnée par le grand nombre de gens qui boivent l'eau du robinet et l'utilise y compris pour leurs bébés. Ca me rappelle j'ai été choquée il y a quelques mois de voir qu'une amie japonaise utilisait pour préparer le biberon de sa fille l'eau de son frigo, vous savez les frigos américains avec distributeur d'eau, qui n'est autre que l'eau du robinet, sans rien stériliser et en plus le distributeur  (en plastic= nid à bactéries) ainsi que le frigo jamais nettoyés sont tout crades. C'est pas la 1ère fois que je vois ça, j'avais aussi vu des pratiques similaires chez des américaines. Par contre dans la communauté française on est tous avec notre Evian pour les nourrissons.


En passant liste des eaux adaptées aux nourrissons:

Abbey Well, Aqua-Pura, Ashbrook, Ashe Park, Brecon Carreg, Buxton, Evian, Highland Spring, Perthshire Mountain Spring, Spa, Stretton Hills, Vittel and Volvic.

 

"I was reading on Wikipedia that:
 
"Activated carbon does adsorb iodine very well and in fact the iodine number, mg/g, (ASTM D28 Standard Method test) is used as an indication of total surface area."
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Activated_carbon#Other
 
I remember seeing some little mini carbon filters for your faucet at our local 100 yen store. I wonder if they would help remove the radioactive iodine? I will go there today to buy one and try it out, after all it's only 100 yen! I don't think it would hurt anything to try, more of a small "peace of mind" thing to do sense I have no way of testing. I hope they are not sold out like the bottled water...has the Japanese news mentioned carbon filters? I can't understand Japanese yet, sorry. I could be completely wrong about this idea, sorry for thinking outloud but I wanted to share just in case it was a good idea.
 
What do you think?"

 

"My engineer DH did a bit of research yesterday and came up with the same info.We have a filter as do all the units in our building, so DH and I agreed that we'lluse filtered water for cooking and hot beverages, and save our stock of bottled water for drinking plain or perhaps mugicha if the kids ask me to make some.
My kids are unusual among their classmates in that they are willing, and in fact actually like, drinking plain water. Most of their classmates won't drink water, only mugicha or juice."

 

"I just got back from the 100 yen store, and active carbon water filters were in stock as normal. I bought one for the sink, one for the shower, and two refills for the sink one for just 315 yen. I don't really need the shower one, but figured it coulden't hurt. For all I know, they will do a news story about active carbon filters and they will go flying off the shelves like bottle water is right now. I guess I am hoping I am one step ahead...and if not, filters never hurt.
 
Im surprised it hasn't been mentioned already, I figured it was just one of my crazy ideas to waste money on. Thanks so much for backing me up, glad I am not alone about the idea. "


"I can't get my head round this filter thing - some people say charcoal, some say ceramics, some say reverse osmosis. You can order Katadyn pocket filters more cheaply directly from the US (even from Amazon) and probably Europe, even including shipping, I believe (that is I have not investigated really carefully, but that's what I'm seeing so far). We have used a Seagull IV reverse osmosis filter for donkey's years, but I can't figure out whether that is or is not partially effective in the current situation. Some people claim that the Cleansui 13+2 filters work for largeish radioactive particles, but I see that Mitsubishi Rayon themselves make no such claims. One possibility of course is that methods that don't work completely might still be an improvement on plain tapwater.

One thing you might consider if you have an old-fashioned pressure cooker (the type with a removable weight on the top) is to use it to distill water. That will remove almost all radioactive contaminants, and
despite the hassle, it might be worth considering for smallish amounts of distilled water if the situation continues and you have small children. Filtering the distilled water would be even better, but considering the low level of contaminants at present, maybe not worth it.

A pressure cooker is the most energy-efficient method I can think of. Solar distillation would be good...if Japan weren't heading for the rainy season. Low-temperature (below boiling point) distillation works
better if you can lower the ambient pressure...DS has been detailed to consider low-tech ways to do this, I hope he involves his mates, and I'd love it if some other techie MIJers and their friends and families would
put their heads to work on good solutions.

In English, I'm sure you can all Google at least as well as I can, but here's one clear example:
http://www.instructables.com/id/How-to-make-a-still/

In Japanese (actually for distillation of alcohol, but it would work for
water too):
http://platon.cocolog-nifty.com/lovelovejank/2006/07/post_fc8c.html

"Well, maybe my thinking is over simplified, but I think each filter is designed to filter something specific. I am familiar with some of the filters you mentioned because I used to work with saltwater fish at a pet shop a long time ago. They need the cleanest water possible to survive. But in this case I just figured if all we had to worry about was a radioactive iodine, to buy a filter that removed iodine. And from my quick research, active carbon works very well.
 
Im not an expert or anything though, so sorry if I don't know what I am talking about! I just wanted to pass out the idea just in case it helps someone."

Dans tous les cas voilà un autre parfait exemple de ce qui se trame ici à Tokyo. Et non on n'attend pas comme des moutons la parole divine du gouvernement japonais, on essaye de se prendre en main.

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
DowntownTokyo
Publicité
Newsletter
Archives
Derniers commentaires
Publicité